About Us


Our Mission

Our mission is to protect and enhance Cass County's natural resources by providing educational and technical services to all landowners.

Meet the Team

All our Employees & Board Members have a love for conservation & it shows in their daily efforts.  If you see us out in the community please feel free to share your ideas to improve Cass County's natural resources.


Korie Blyveis

Executive Director

Started February 29, 2016 at 16 hours per week.  Now working full time and certified by the State of Michigan to perform duties under the SESC Comprehensive classification. (inspector/administrator).

Korie is a graduate of Western Michigan University with a BA in Environmental Studies and Communications.

She is an 20 year resident of Cass County, prior Newberg Township Clerk and St. Joseph County MSU Extension Resource Recovery Agent.



Erez Brandvain

MAEAP Technician

Started March 7, 2016 as the full-time Michigan Department of Agriculture grant funded MAEAP Technician.

Erez is a 2013 graduate of Sterling College in Vermont with a BA in Sustainable Agriculture, Draft Horse Management.

2016 Special Recognition from MAEAP for outstanding accomplishments in all MAEAP verification systems.


Kimberly Barton

CISMA Outreach Educator

Started January 18, 2017 as the part-time Michigan Department of Natural Resources grant funded position SW x SW Corner CISMA Outreach Educator.

Kimberly is a graduate of Michigan Technological University with a BS in Environmental Anthropology.  She is currently studying for Master's of Environmental Management with Western Colorado State University through Distance Learning Student Program.


Rachael Horn

Administrative Assistant

Started July 2017 as the part-time Administrative Assistant.

Rachael is a graduate of Western Michigan University with a Bachelor's degree in Freshwater Science and Sustainability.  She also obtained an Associate's in Environmental Science from Lake Michigan College and is currently in the Army Ready Reserve with the Army National Guard.

Rachael is an SESC inspector and will continue efforts toward building programs for the district pertaining to water quality and conservation.

District Board of Directors

A conservation district board is consisted of five (5) elected directors who serve four (4) year terms.  The District election is nonpartisan and the directors are elected by the residents of the district at large.


Dan Stutsman


Liaison Duties:  General Promotion/Advertising


Karen Nelson

Vice Chairman



Kevin Hershberger


Liaison Duties:  Financials & MAEAP


Scott Wyman

Liaison Duties:  Human Resources & SESC

Cass County Parks & Recreation Department Director


Jeff Peterson

Liaison Duties:  CISMA


Annie File

Cass County Board Liaison