New board planning 2019 activities

At the Annual Meeting held in early December, Director Bernie Williamson was newly elected, Scott Wyman was re-elected to his position, and John Green accepted position as Associate Director. They join Directors Dan Stutsman, Karen Nelson, Kevin Hershberger, and Associate Directors Annie File and Jeff Blyveis. This new board is busy reviewing and updating our Plan of Work to ensure we are successful in our mission to enhance and protect the natural resources of Cass County. Please share your thoughts with any of the board members as we strive to improve your Conservation District…and please participate in our educational programs, tree sale, and stop in anytime to learn more about MAEAP Michigan Agriculture Environmental Assurance Program and how to identify and combat invasive species with the SW x SW CISMA.

Annual Awards 2018

Over the years Conservation Awards are given to deserving organizations and individuals that work hard to conserve our natural resources. At the Annual meeting on December 4, 2018 four were awarded this honor.

Congratulations to the 2018 award winners: Conservationist of the Year: Ken Kesson/Michigan DNR SW Region; Conservation Farmer: Kevin Hershberger; Environmental Awareness Advocate: Ramona Moorman (posthumously)/Marcellus News; and Volunteer of the Year: Jeff Blyveis.

See more details about each of these awardees on our District Website: